Does pet insurance cover cremation?
Every comparison site answers this with "check your PDS". So we read them. All 43 of them, across 20 Australian brands, and pulled out the clause that decides it. The pattern is remarkably consistent, and it is not the one most people expect.
Which Australian pet insurers pay for cremation
We read the Product Disclosure Statement of 20 Australian pet insurance brands, 43 documents in all. 19 of them pay something toward euthanasia. 1 pays for the cremation itself.
| Insurer | Euthanasia | Cremation or burial | Limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coles Pet Insurance Coles Comprehensive Pet Insurance | Yes | Yes | $500 |
| Bupa Pet Insurance Bupa Pet Insurance policy | Yes | On some plans | not stated |
| Petcover Mid-range plan | On some plans | On some plans | $300 |
| RSPCA Pet Insurance PetShield | Yes | On some plans | $50 |
| Guide Dogs Pet Insurance Guide Dogs Pet Insurance Basic, Comprehensive and Premium Care | Yes | Not stated | not stated |
| HCF Pet Insurance HCF Pet Insurance | Not stated | Not stated | not stated |
| Pet Insurance Australia Pet Basic Cover and Pet Essentials Cover | Not stated | Not stated | not stated |
| Petbarn Pet Insurance Total Cover | Yes | Not stated | not stated |
| Real Insurance Pet Accidental, Premium and Standard Cover | Not stated | Not stated | not stated |
| Woolworths Pet Insurance Everyday Pet Insurance Basic, Standard, Comprehensive and Comprehensive Plus Plans | Not stated | Not stated | not stated |
| Bow Wow Meow Bow Wow Meow Pet Health Insurance | Yes | No | not stated |
| Budget Direct Pet Insurance Budget Direct Pet Insurance | Yes | No | not stated |
| CommBank Pet Insurance All plans | Yes | No | not stated |
| ING Pet Insurance All plans | Yes | No | not stated |
| Knose Knose Pet Insurance | Yes | No | not stated |
| Medibank Pet Insurance Medibank Pet Insurance | Yes | No | not stated |
| Pet Circle Insurance Pet Circle Insurance | Yes | No | not stated |
| PetSure Buddy Pet Insurance policy | Yes | No | not stated |
| Petsy Petsy Kitten Protection Plus | Yes | No | not stated |
| insurance.com.au Pet insurance.com.au Pet | Yes | No | not stated |
43 disclosure statements. Each brand's own Product Disclosure Statement, read directly. Where a brand publishes several plans, the table shows the most generous. A policy counts as covering cremation only where the document names cremation, burial or disposal of the body; a clause that pays for the euthanasia alone does not. Surveyed 30 August 2026. Insurers rewrite these documents. Check the version attached to your own policy before you rely on it. How we collected this.
The exact wording, for the ones that do pay
If you are claiming, this is the sentence to quote back. Copied from the disclosure statement without changes.
We will Cover You for the cost of: a. Vet Treatment incurred by You during the Period of Cover to euthanise Your Pet when this is considered to be a humane and essential course of action by the Vet and arises as a result of an Accidental Injury or Illness Covered under this Policy; and b. the subsequent disposal, burial or cremation of Your Pet. Coles Pet Insurance, Coles Comprehensive Pet Insurance , PDS dated 2024-12-01
We will pay you the Benefit Percentage for eligible Vet Expenses incurred by you up to the Benefit Limit or Sub-limit for the applicable Condition to euthanase your Pet during the Policy Period provided that this was deemed a humane and essential course of action by the Vet, and as a result of a covered Condition under your policy. Bupa Pet Insurance, Bupa Pet Insurance policy
If a Vet recommends that your Pet is put to sleep, we will pay the necessary Vet costs, and subsequent cremation and/or burial costs. Petcover, Mid-range plan
We will reimburse you the applicable Benefit Percentage of Vet Expenses, up to the Annual Limit and subject to the Benefit Limit, for the euthanasia of your Pet during the Policy Period, provided it was considered a humane and necessary decision by the Vet and was due to a Condition covered by your Policy. RSPCA Pet Insurance, PetShield
What this means on the day
Assume the cremation is yours to pay for, and treat any contribution as a surprise. Ask your vet to itemise the euthanasia separately from the aftercare on the invoice, because the euthanasia is the part most policies will actually look at, and a single combined line is the most common reason a claim gets knocked back.
The three things policies treat completely differently
Covered by 19 of the 20 brands we read, because it is veterinary treatment. It usually has to be medically necessary and arise from a condition the policy already covers.
Excluded by 10 of them. Where it is covered, it is capped: the sub-limits we found range from $50 to $1,000, and the higher figures come with the plan tier to match.
Not covered by anything we read. Treat memorials as a personal purchase and see what they actually cost before you are standing in front of a catalogue on a bad day.
Insurers rewrite these documents, and several brands publish more than one plan, so confirm against the version attached to your own policy. If yours does not cover the cremation, our pricing is flat and quoted before anything is booked: what pet cremation costs in Australia.
Insurance questions, answered
Does pet insurance cover cremation in Australia?
Almost never. We read the Product Disclosure Statement of 20 Australian pet insurance brands, 43 documents in total. 19 of them pay something toward euthanasia, because that is veterinary treatment. 1 pays for the cremation itself: Coles Pet Insurance. 3 more pay toward it on a particular plan or add-on.
Which pet insurer pays for cremation?
Coles Pet Insurance. The clause reads: "We will Cover You for the cost of: a. Vet Treatment incurred by You during the Period of Cover to euthanise Your Pet when this is considered to be a humane and essential course of action by the Vet and arises as a result of an Accidental Injury or Illness Covered under this Policy; and b. the subsequent disposal, burial or cremation of Your Pet." It is capped, so check the sub-limit on your own plan before you rely on it.
Will insurance pay the vet bill for euthanasia?
Usually, if it is medically necessary and the underlying condition is covered. 19 of the 20 brands we read pay something toward it. What almost all of them then exclude is what happens to the body, which is the part families do not expect.
What should I look for in my PDS?
Search the document for "euthanasia", then for "cremation", "burial" and "disposal". If those three words appear only in the exclusions, the aftercare is yours to pay for. If they appear in a benefit clause, note the sub-limit, which in the policies we read runs from $50 to $1,000.
How do I give myself the best chance on a claim?
Ask your vet to itemise the euthanasia separately from the aftercare on the invoice. Euthanasia is the part most policies will actually assess, and a single combined line is the most common reason a claim gets knocked back. Keep our invoice too, because it itemises collection and cremation separately.
If insurance will not cover it, what does cremation cost?
Median advertised price for individual cremation in Australia is $432, across 206 prices we surveyed, and communal cremation is advertised from $80. Our own pricing is flat and quoted before anything is booked.
Need help working out the costs?
We will give you the exact figure and an itemised invoice for any claim.